Nothing can stop us!

Being an Immigrant myself, gives me an inside look at the troublesome situations immigrants are apart of. My parents brought our family to the US in order to give my imm1.jpgsister and I a better future. My sister was 14 and I was 7, we didn’t have a say in the matter, so we were forced to be aliens in an unknown country. Because I was so young, and didn’t remember much about the country i was born in, I started adapting to the one I was in, and eventually loved and carfor it like it was my own. But in reality I was still an alien to it, Thanks to the Dream Act, which is a law that allows undocumented students to qualify for in–state tuition and be able to attend a two-year community college or a four- year university in the United States, I was able to continue my studies and become someone great. Also thanks to DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals), which allows immigrants to obtain a work permit, a social security and some of the benefits a citizen would have (this permit can be revoked at any time), I was able to be outgoing and start working in different places and I was also able to obtain my drivers license. These laws came into play in 2012, and changed so many people’s life’s, including my own. I was able to graduate high school, knowing that I could get in any college/university I wanted, and had no legal issue to deal with. My sister sand I able to acquire a greater education and somewhat have opportunities that US citizens obatianed. My sister and i both attend Maryland. I’m working on my Bachelors and she is working on her Masters. These laws gave immigrants a sense of hope. Because as we all might know, a lot of parents bring their families here, in hopes of giving them a chance to obtain success. They leave everything behind. Their culture, their assets, a lot of their family etc. They sacrifice all those things, just to be able to offer their family something better. Thanks to Obama. people were able to see light in such dark time. So many people marched and fought for this, and once it finally happened, imm
people cried of joy. It was honestly a huge milestone for immigrants in this country. That is why, now having Trump as our president and hearing all his threats to take away all of what the US has being able to do for immigrants, its just disgusting. SO many lives will get destroyed; so many hopes and dreams will be shattered. This is why, WE as a country need to fight for out immigrants and expose the great value they have in the country

Leave a Reply

